COUNTDOWN TO PUBLICATION

Revised ETF CoverEvangelina Takes Flight comes out in 4 more days! For those who’ve pre-ordered the book, I am not sure when you’ll get it; that’s up to the retailer you used. I won’t get my own copies for a little while either. The book just went to the printers on Monday!

Arte Público Press sent it back to me for one final look in case I felt a need for last minute edits, and it was such a pleasure reading it again. I’ve been very focused on Call Girl and haven’t actually read my first book in quite a while.

Evangelina Takes Flight is a love letter to my family, with an important message of hope and triumph in the face of challenge and uncertainty. Everything in the story is a tribute to my family – my grandmothers, parents, aunts, uncles, cousins, husband and kids. There are many names in the book people in my immediate circle will recognize – Arturo (& Tito), Amparo, Belinda, Nora, Hilda, Ida, Margaret (Margarita in the book), Mario, Patricia, Cristina, René, Doctor Russell Taylor, David, Adelfa, Adán, and the list goes on.

There are references to the fairytale-like stories my dad used to tell me when I was a little girl, to a joke between my grandma and I about how badly I rolled tortillas (NOT round), to cultural memories like playing Loteria (Mexican Bingo with pictures), making tamales together and all the delicious food the women in my family made and everyone enjoyed.

On top of all that, it’s an important story about how a scared family, with no other option but to flee their beloved home and homeland, endure compassionless treatment by many in their new hometown and a young, anxious girl blossoms into a confident young woman with dreams and determination for a better future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

