Taking Critiques with a Grain of Salt

shutterstock_19554931Many months ago I entered a literary contest and forgot about it until today when I got a response.

I didn’t win the contest. No big deal. The odds were not in my favor, but it was worth a try.

With the rejection came two critiques from industry experts…that were almost polar opposites.

This shows how varied people’s opinions are about any art form, writing included. Of course, I knew this already, but as a new author, I have put great stock in “expert opinions” and learned plenty along the way. They’ve also confused me and made me question what in the heck I’m doing.

In this case, one reviewer saw lots of promise in my book, but also gave some constructive criticism. The second reviewer pretty much said my book stinks.

This is not to say the second reviewer was all wrong. Quite the contrary. I may not LIKE what the reviewer said, but there are nuggets of wisdom in it I will use in the future.

Lesson learned: don’t let negative reviews drag you down; learn what you can and move on. Ultimately, you have to believe in the merits of your work. Listen to the good, the bad and the ugly with an open mind and strive for continuous improvement in your craft.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Critiques with a Grain of Salt

  1. Cindy says:

    Love your spirit and wisdom. You are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

