Perfidia -Childhood Memories in Song (Dad on Guitar, Me on Vocals)

EK_0138 EK_0125 Sant 'Antimo

It’s been ages since I’ve posted anything. My bad. I am still struggling to get going full speed again, but I have not given up! I will finish this book by the end of the year. There! I said it. I have drawn a line in the sand and now it will happen, right? What would really help is for me to stop working full-time. Ahhh, wishful thinking. I guess I’ll just keep writing when I have time here and there. Slowly she goes.

A few things of note – first, I will be in San Antonio for a business trip soon. I plan to take an extra day of vacation to do research in perhaps the most historically rich place in all of Texas. I’ve spoken to someone at the Institute of Texan Cultures and he and some of his staff plan to help me with my research on the time period (May-August 1911), the Revolution, Texas history including discrimination against the flood of Mexican immigrants escaping the war, etc.. I am thrilled by this opportunity!

Second, my dad and I did have a chance to do some recording with Enrique Henao who lives in Edmonds, WA but is originally from Colombia. He is an accomplished guitar player and performer. I mentioned him in my last post. I took one of the songs he helped my Dad and I record, attached it to some old photos and made it into a YouTube video. It was my first time recording in a “real studio” and I can hear my nerves in the performance, but it was still so much fun. I am a little flat or sharp here and there, or my timing is “off”, but all in all, it’s such a gift to have a recording of the songs I grew up singing with the most wonderful, loving, compassionate, patient, hardworking, generous, intelligent dad in the world. Here’s a link if you’d like to listen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHBwGrHuMMA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

